Posts tagged "phase 1"

The Hero’s Journey: Phase 2, Initiation


Initiation is the second phase of the Hero’s Journey, where the journey really starts to get interesting. This blog post will summarize this phase of the Hero’s Journey, consisting of 4 parts: “The Road of Trials”, “Approach to the Inmost Cave”, “The Ordeal”, and “The Reward”.


The Hero’s Journey truly begins here, and he has a long road ahead of him.

Part 1: The Road of Trials

The hero is now fully immersed in a mysterious new world, and has truly began his journey. There’s no turning back now. This can be both an exciting and frightening experience for the hero. All the rules are new, and he has to figure out the correct path in this strange new world. This world should create a strong contrast for the audience. The Hero will be tested, and new territory will be explored.

Part 2: Approach to the Inmost Cave

By this point, the hero has adjusted to this new world, and is ready to reach into the heart of it. He’s now reaching the very center of the Hero’s Journey, and he will again come across the Threshold Guardians, protecting it. Here, they will have to prepare for a great ordeal. At this point, the hero is about to reach the peak of the story.

Part 3: The Ordeal

The Ordeal is like the climax of the story. The hero is standing in the Inmost Cave, and he must face a fearsome enemy. At this point the hero must show true heroism. This is where the hero is reborn, and he must die in order to do so. In one way or another, the hero must face death (or a symbolic version of death, such as their greatest fear), and recover from it.

Part 4: The Reward

The Ordeal has passed, and the hero must now face the consequences of surviving death. He can now claim his reward for overcoming The Ordeal. The hero should be recognized and awarded for surviving death.


For more information, try reading:

The Writers Journey: Mythic Structure for Writers, 3rd Edition


Joseph Campbell – The Hero’s Journey

Share This Post

1 comment - What do you think?
Posted by forgotmypen - April 23, 2012 at 3:48 am

Categories: Character Development, Story Development   Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Hero’s Journey: Phase 1, Departure


This is the start of a series of blog posts discussing The Hero’s Journey. I first brought up the Hero’s Journey in my last blog post concerning the Character Arc, and I thought it might benefit some people to go into further detail about the subject. Note that this is a rather large topic, and I’ll only be able to cover so much of it in this blog. If you’re interested, and you’d like more in-depth information, try reading:The Writers Journey: Mythic Structure for Writers, 3rd Edition.

This blog post will summarize the Departure phase of the Hero’s Journey, which will be expanded into five parts: The Ordinary World, Call to Adventure, Refusal of the Call, Supernatural Aid, and Crossing the Threshold.

The Departure

This blog article is part 1 of The Hero’s Journey, and will outline the Departure phase. The Departure phase regards the Hero’s Journey before the quest, and it has 5 parts.

Part 1: The Ordinary World

The Ordinary World is all about creating an atmosphere for the story. When the story is still in the Ordinary World, try focusing on the title, the very first image (or opening image), the prologue (if you feel that you need one), contrast, foreshadowing, inner and outer problems, dramatic question, making an entrance, and introducing the hero (which contains many elements in itself.) It may sound complicated, but don’t panic. This is where you establish the story.

Part 2: Call to Adventure

The Call to Adventure has also been referred to as the Inciting Incident, or Inciting Event. This is where the story picks up, and the adventure begins. The Call to Adventure usually occurs as some sort of large event. A messenger, declaration of war, etc.. The elements may include synchronicity, temptations, change, reconnaissance, disorientation/discomfort, lack/need, no options, warnings, or more then one call. This, really, is where the story begins.

Part 3: Refusal of the Call

In this part of the story, the hero responds to the Call to Adventure. Keep in mind that your hero is being asked to say yes to a difficult and unknown passage. His natural response, at first, should be to hesitate, and say no. This is the best way to inform your audience that the adventure head is going to be dangerous. This part of the adventure may include avoidance, excuses, persistent refusal/tragedy, conflicting calls, positive refusal, artist as hero, threshold guardians, secret doors, and questioning the journey.

Part 4: Meeting with the Mentor

The mentor’s service to the hero may include: protection, guidance, testing, training, and providing magical gifts. In this stage of the journey, the hero gains the knowledge and confidence he needs to overcome fear and begin the adventure. This part of the journey may include: hero’s/mentors, sources of wisdom, misdirection, mentor/hero conflict, and critical influence.

Part 5: Crossing the Threshold

The hero now stands at the very threshold of adventure. This is the hero’s most crucial action, beginning the adventure. This part of the story may include: approaching the threshold, threshold guardians, the crossing, and a rough landing.

Share This Post

8 comments - What do you think?
Posted by forgotmypen - April 2, 2012 at 3:00 am

Categories: Character Development, Story Development   Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,